Methodist Healthcare
November 18, 2021

Four Methodist Healthcare hospitals have earned "A" Grades for Hospital Safety by the Leapfrog Group in the fall of 2021. This achievement and national distinction recognize health care facilities for their efforts in providing safe healthcare and protecting them from harm.

“We could have never predicted that we would enter a second year of battling the pandemic and I’m extremely proud of our staff for maintaining our high safety standards within such a challenging environment,” said Allen Harrison, President, and CEO of Methodist Healthcare.

An independent, national watchdog organization, The Leapfrog Group is committed to health care quality and safety. Every six months, all general hospitals across the country are assigned safety grades ('A,' 'B,' 'C,' 'D' or 'F'). These scores depend on a hospital's ability to prevent medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections, and more from happening to patients in their care.

"An 'A' safety grade is an elite designation that your community should be proud of," said Leah Binder, president, and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. "The past year has been extraordinarily difficult for hospitals, but Methodist Healthcare shows us it is possible to keep a laser focus on patients and their safety, no matter what it takes."

Leapfrog grades for Fall 2021

  • Methodist Hospital Metropolitan – 11 A's in a row
  • Methodist Hospital Specialty and Transplant – 8 A's in a row
  • Methodist Hospital | Atascosa – 7 A's in a row
  • Methodist Hospital Texsan – 5 A's in a row

There are about 27 publicly available hospital safety data measures that The Leapfrog Group uses to distinguish grades for over 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals, two times a year. The methodology behind the rating system is peer-reviewed and fully transparent. The results are free to the public, as well as patient tips for staying safe at the hospital, on Hospital Safety Grade’s website.