Methodist Healthcare
December 14, 2020

Methodist Healthcare was awarded Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade 'As' in the fall 2020, a national distinction recognizing achievements protecting patients from harm and providing safer health care.

"This has been an exceptionally challenging year for everyone in health care, but that did not prevent us from maintaining the high safety standards that Methodist Healthcare is known for," said Allen Harrison, President and CEO of Methodist Healthcare. "Patient safety is a top priority for every employee during every shift. We appreciate the tremendous job our frontline health care teams are doing."

The Leapfrog Group is an independent national watchdog organization committed to health care quality and safety. The Safety Grade assigns an 'A', 'B', 'C', 'D' or 'F' grade to all general hospitals across the country and is updated every six months. It is based on a hospital's performance in preventing medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections and other harms to patients in their care.

"We are extremely grateful to hospital leadership and health care workers who have remained steadfast in prioritizing patient safety as our nation battles COVID-19," said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. "This 'A' is a testament to the care and commitment of those who work for Methodist Healthcare. With the current pandemic exposing existing flaws within the U.S. health care system, we appreciate you putting patient safety first. Lives depend on it."

Leapfrog grades for Fall 2020

Methodist Hospital Metropolitan – 9 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Specialty and Transplant – 6 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital South – 5 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Texsan – 3 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital & Methodist Children’s Hospital – 2 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Northeast – 2 A's in a row

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses up to 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public. To see each hospital's full grade details and access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit the hospital safety grade website.

About Methodist Healthcare

Methodist Healthcare — San Antonio is the largest provider of health care in South and Central Texas with 30 facilities, including nine hospitals and four freestanding emergency departments, serving over 608,000 inpatients and outpatients annually. The Methodist Healthcare team is comprised of 11,000, making Methodist Healthcare the second largest private employer in San Antonio. The Texas Quality Foundation selected Methodist Healthcare to receive the 2014 Texas Award for Performance Excellence. Methodist Healthcare is the first and only health care system in South Texas to receive this award, which requires an organization to demonstrate its commitment to the highest quality standards. With more than 2,700 credentialed physicians, Methodist Healthcare provides the largest array of medical services in the region, including neurosurgery, cardiovascular services, oncology and women’s services. Visit SA Health's website to learn more.

About The Leapfrog Group

Founded in 2000 by large employers and other purchasers, The Leapfrog Group is a national nonprofit organization driving a movement for giant leaps forward in the quality and safety of American health care. The flagship Leapfrog Hospital Survey and new Leapfrog Ambulatory Surgery Center (ASC) Survey collect and transparently report hospital and ASC performance, empowering purchasers to find the highest-value care and giving consumers the lifesaving information, they need to make informed decisions. The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade, Leapfrog's other main initiative, assigns letter grades to hospitals based on their record of patient safety, helping consumers protect themselves and their families from errors, injuries, accidents and infections.