Methodist Healthcare
April 30, 2021

Seven Methodist Healthcare hospitals earned Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade ‘As’ in the spring of 2021, a national distinction recognizing achievements protecting patients from harm and providing safer health care.

“This has been an exceptionally challenging year for everyone in health care, but that did not prevent us from maintaining the high safety standards that Methodist Healthcare is known for,” said Allen Harrison, President and CEO of Methodist Healthcare. “Patient safety is a top priority for every employee during every shift. We appreciate the tremendous job our frontline health care teams are doing.”

The Leapfrog Group is an independent national watchdog organization committed to health care quality and safety. The Safety Grade assigns an ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’ or ‘F’ grade to all general hospitals across the country and is updated every six months. It is based on a hospital’s performance in preventing medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections and other harms to patients in their care.

“An ‘A’ safety grade is an elite designation that your community should be proud of,” said Leah Binder, president and CEO of The Leapfrog Group. “The past year has been extraordinarily difficult for hospitals, but Methodist Healthcare shows us it is possible to keep a laser focus on patients and their safety, no matter what it takes.”

Leapfrog grades for Fall 2020

Methodist Hospital | Metropolitan – 10 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital | Specialty and Transplant – 7 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital | South – 6 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital | Texsan – 4 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital & Methodist Children’s Hospital – 3 A’s in a row

Methodist Hospital | Northeast – 3 A’s in a row

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses up to 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to more than 2,600 U.S. acute-care hospitals twice per year. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is peer-reviewed and fully transparent, and the results are free to the public. To see each hospital’s full grade details and access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit Hospital Safety Grade's website.