Four Methodist Healthcare hospitals have earned Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade ‘As’ in the spring of 2022, a national distinction recognizing achievements in protecting patients from harm and providing safer health care.

The Leapfrog Group is an independent national watchdog organization committed to health care quality and safety. The Safety Grade assigns an ‘A’, ‘B’, ‘C’, ‘D’ or ‘F’ grade to nearly 3,000 hospitals across the United States every six months. It is based on a hospital’s performance in preventing medical errors, injuries, accidents, infections, and other harms to patients in their care.

Leapfrog grades for Spring 2022

Methodist Hospital Metropolitan - 12 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Specialty and Transplant – 9 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Atascosa – 7 A's in a row

Methodist Hospital Texsan – 6 A's in a row

The Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade uses up to 27 measures of publicly available hospital safety data to assign grades to the facilities. The Hospital Safety Grade’s methodology is fully transparent, it is also peer-reviewed and the scores are available for free to the public. To see each hospital’s full grade details and access patient tips for staying safe in the hospital, visit